Short Poems Inspired by Nature

Megan S.
3 min readApr 4, 2021

--

Recently I have felt inspired to turn my love of nature into art in the form of poetry. I have been tackling areas of weakness in my psyche recently, one of which has been self-criticism. I had always loved writing but did not feel like I could speak my mind freely in some cases. Now I feel like I can be my authentic self, which allows me to translate my passions into writing without the burdens of negative external or internal criticism. I continually strive to sustain the changes I’ve made in myself through the art and healing powers of writing and building community, however small I need to start.

Here are some pieces of poetry I have written recently that reflect balance in nature:

Sea (Water 1)

Aye, the sea… Either a gentle maiden or a force to be reckoned with;
She whispers her sweet lullabies then roars with rage…
Ye must fear one day she will wrap you in her cold embrace for all eternity.
Yet quiet and calm, she gently nourishes, sustaining life.

Oregon coastline near Thor’s Well (July 2015). Traveling is something I have been interested in to expand my worldview and understand the complexities within cultures and communities.

River (Water 2)

The river — flowing and beautiful,
Paves a path through earth and stone.
Give too much and she roars, drowning;
Too little and she disappears, depriving life.
Balanced and calm, she is a helping hand.

A stream forging a path through rocks and earth in Oregon

Wind (Air)

Wind — sister to the sea… Refreshing and cool,
Yet also swift and mighty.
Allies with the sea to drench,
And destroy all who dare come into her path;
Then departs, still and serene.

A hawk carrying its prey, using the air currents to shape its flight path. Photo taken April 2020 at a local park.

Fire

Passion aflame, burning bright;
Controlled, provides comfort and light.
Fueled, it rages with a path of destruction,
Then silence…
Life returns anew from the ashes,
Thriving, a cycle beginning again.

A sunset scene in Estes Park, Colorado in February 2019

Earth

The earth — stable yet flexible,
Bending and shaping in response to stimuli:
The river forges a path through, carving;
The sea dances along, creating waves;
The wind stirs, carrying life along.
Life thrives and perishes along its natural cycles,
What it gives it takes away.

A young turtle found in my parents’ garden in 2011. This is one of my earlier photos when I was first delving into photography as a hobby. It’s nice to look back and see my passion early on in life

A bonus poem inspired by the art and meaning found within music:

“A Tiny Light” (inspired by Sigur Rós)

Stars shining brightly, pinpricks of light.
As I lie down on a grassy hill at night,
I feel small, like the same stars in sight.
But here I am, a small significance in life,
Making steps forward, trying not to strife.
On the grand scheme of things, I am small,
Yet in the life of another I have meaning.
Don’t give up hope, stand tall.
One day this will all pass, as we strive for healing.

Let us be like water, adaptive and flowing;
Like a breath of fresh air, sustaining life;
Like fire, warm and comforting;
And like earth, strong and flexible.
Let us be the light within the darkness.

Thanks for reading!

--

--

Megan S.

I am a seeker of truth, animal and nature lover, hobbyist photographer, and outdoors enthusiast who is passionate about growth through self-knowledge.